How do you get a Navy Cross Medal?

The Navy Cross may be awarded to any member of the U.S. Armed Forces while serving with the Navy, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard (when a part of the Department of the Navy) who distinguishes themselves in action by extraordinary heroism not justifying an award of the Medal of Honor.

What’s the difference between the Medal of Honor and the Navy Cross

Actions that merit the Navy Cross must be of such a high degree that they are above those required for all other U.S. combat decorations but do not merit award of the Medal of Honor. The Navy Cross is equivalent to the Distinguished Service Cross (Army) and the Air Force Cross (Air Force).

How many people have been awarded the Navy Cross?

Congress revised this on , making the Navy Cross a combat-only decoration that follows the Medal of Honor in order of precedence. Since the medal was established, it has been awarded more than 6,300 times. It was designed by James Earle Fraser.

Who has received the Navy Cross


How prestigious is the Navy Cross?

The Navy Cross is the second-highest military decoration that members of the U.S. Navy and U.S. Marine Corps can receive, second only to the Medal of Honor. It is the equivalent of the Army’s Distinguished Service Cross, the Air Force and Space Force’s Air Force Cross and the Coast Guard’s Coast Guard Cross.

What is the hardest Medal to get in the military

The five highest-ranking military medals for bravery in combat include the Congressional Medal of Honor, the Distinguished Service Cross (DSC), the Navy Cross, the Air Force Cross and the Silver Star Medal.

See also  Can I drink milk after eating boiled egg?

What are the 3 highest military medals

  • Medal of Honor.
  • Navy Cross.
  • Silver Star.

How does a soldier get the Navy Cross

To warrant this distinctive decoration, the act or the execution of duty must be performed in the presence of great danger or at great personal risk and must be performed in such a manner as to set the individual apart from his shipmates or fellow Marines.

What are the top 10 Navy medals

  • The Purple Heart.
  • The Bronze Star.
  • Medals For Non-Combat Heroism (By Military Branch)
  • Soldier’s Medal.
  • Navy And Marine Corps Medal.
  • Airman’s Medal.
  • Coast Guard Medal.
  • Distinguished Flying Cross.

Who is the only Marine to receive 5 Navy Crosses

Lieutenant General Lewis “Chesty” Burwell Puller, colorful veteran of the Korean fighting, four World War II campaigns and expeditionary service in China, Nicaragua and Haiti, was one of the most decorated Marines in the Corps, and the only Leatherneck ever to win the Navy Cross five times for heroism and gallantry in

Who has the most Navy Crosses

Davenport. Rear Admiral Roy Milton Davenport ( – ) was an officer in the United States Navy. He is the first sailor to be awarded five Navy Crosses, the United States military’s second highest decoration for valor.

How many Navy Crosses were awarded in WWII

As of July 2022, this list is incomplete, showing 1,485 Navy Crosses awarded in all service branches for actions of valor during World War II: 489 to U.S. Navy recipients; 1,029 U.S. Marine Corps recipients; 11 U.S. Army Air Forces recipients; 6 U.S. Coast Guard recipients; 3 U.S. Army recipients; and 1 civilian

Has a woman won the Navy Cross

Navy nurse Lenah Higbee was a barrier breaker. One of the first 20 female members of the service, Higbee not only was the first woman to receive the Navy Cross, but remains the only woman to do so non-posthumously.

What medals can Civilians get Navy

The Navy Meritorious Civilian Service Award Medal is a decoration presented by the United States Secretary of the Navy to recognize civilian employees who have provided exceptional services that have made a significant and positive impact on a specific activity or geographic location.

How many Navy Crosses were awarded in ww2

As of July 2022, this list is incomplete, showing 1,485 Navy Crosses awarded in all service branches for actions of valor during World War II: 489 to U.S. Navy recipients; 1,029 U.S. Marine Corps recipients; 11 U.S. Army Air Forces recipients; 6 U.S. Coast Guard recipients; 3 U.S. Army recipients; and 1 civilian

Who can win the Military Cross

The Military Cross (MC) is the third-level (second-level pre-1993) military decoration awarded to officers and (since 1993) other ranks of the British Armed Forces, and formerly awarded to officers of other Commonwealth countries. gallantry during active operations against the enemy.

See also  Does war stink?

What is the most elite Navy team

SEAL Team 6, officially known as United States Naval Special Warfare Development Group (DEVGRU), and Delta Force, officially known as 1st Special Forces Operational Detachment-Delta (1st SFOD-D), are the most highly trained elite forces in the US military.

What is the rarest Medal

The Victoria Cross is the ‘holy grail’ for medal collectors because there are only 1,357 in existence. Bearing the inscription ‘For valour’ and known as a VC, this medal was first awarded for ‘conspicuous bravery’ in 1856 and later backdated to the Crimean war of 1854.

Can I wear my fathers war medals

Can I wear medals belonging to members of my family? The official position is that they should not be worn.

What Medal is higher than gold

The Medal of Honor is the nation’s highest award for military valor. It is generally presented by the president in the name of Congress.

What Medal do you get for dying in war

The Purple Heart medal is presented to service members who have been wounded or killed as a result of enemy action while serving in the U.S. military. A Purple Heart is a solemn distinction and means a service member has greatly sacrificed themselves, or paid the ultimate price, while in the line of duty.

Is a Navy Commendation Medal a big deal

Although the Commendation Medal isn’t uncommon in today’s military service, it’s a great achievement all the same. Service members who display acts of heroism or meritorious achievements while performing their duties should be recognized for their contribution to their unit and the nation.

Which branch gets the most medals

The US Army has awarded 2,451 medals, the most of any branch of the military. Over half of the total amount of Army Medal of Honor recipients were awarded during the Civil War, with 1,522 recipients.

Is the Military Cross a high award

The award is a third-level military decoration and in 1931 the award was extended to Majors and also members of the Royal Air Force for actions on the ground.

What Medal does every soldier get

Medal of Honor

There are three versions of the medal – for the Army, Air Force and Navy (Coast Guard and Marine Corps personnel receive the Navy version) – and all recipients are given the award by the current president.

What rank is 20 years in the Navy

History. On , the Navy extended the HYT for active component sailors to 10 years from 8 years for third class petty officers, to 16 years from 14 years for second class petty officers, and to 22 years from 20 years for first class petty officers.

Related Posts